top of page

2023 Changes to Rank and Merit Badge Requirements

Rank Requirements

Rank requirements have been slightly changed for 13 of the tasks. On January 1, 2023, all Scouts must use only the new requirements. Changes to Rank Requirements can be found in detail in the pdf below or online pdf HERE.

Download PDF • 86KB

Merit Badges

Merit Badge Requirements have changed for 30 different topics. Each of the names below is a direct link to that merit badge's information. As of January 1st, 2023, all Scouts will use the new requirements when starting a merit badge. If you've already started the merit badge using the old requirements, you may choose to use the new requirements immediately or you will have until December 31st, 2023 to complete it before you must use the new version. There is no overall time limit for completing a merit badge, so long as it is done by your 18th birthday.

Eagle Rank Required Merit Badges

Beginning July 1, 2022, the Citizenship in Society merit badge became required for the rank of Eagle. For the rank of Eagle Scout you must earn each of the 11 merit badges in the first picture and 3 of your choice from the second picture. Additionally, you must earn 7 others for a total of 21. These must be completed by your 18th birthday.

Q: Can I do more than 3 from the "choose one" options?

A: Yes. For example, you can earn both Emergency Preparedness and Lifesaving, but one will count as "Eagle-required" and one will count as "additional".

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

We will be having our Committee/Parents meeting tonight at the VFW 7:00 pm. We have a lot to talk about so parents should make every effort to be there.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page